Happy Birthday, Gilbert Baker

gilbert rainbow flag

Gilbert Baker was the creator of the rainbow flag, the symbol of the LGBTQ+ community for over 4 decades. He was active in the San Francisco Gay Rights Movement in the 70s, one of the most important times in queer history. He just recently died of heart disease, only in his 60s.

We have to cling to the symbols of pride and culture for our community. It is so remarkable to think about what this flag has seen over the last 40 years–upheaval, progress, compassion, tragedies. We will always have our heritage as the years go on. The vitality of the queer community continues to shine bright and colorfully.

This is the flag I purchased at my first Pride parade. It also happened to be the first day of the Pulse shooting. I wear it with such responsibility and gratitude for my ancestors who made sure I could!

I hope Gilbert knows the world erupts into rainbows every June, and that we tweet little images of his flag all the time. I hope all who have passed onto another life but who spent their time here fighting know that LGBTQ+ youth now find home in these rainbows.

With love,
LPP Team Leader Alyssa

me and rainbow.jpg
With my Matthew bracelet peeking through on the right…

Leave a Reply

